In case you were worried…

I made it out to HALO, Phoenix’s largest no-kill animal rescue shelter that also serves as a weekly volunteer fix, this weekend to help out with the daily cleaning of cat cages.

I wrote about a week ago about visiting and learning that one of the four kitties I had fostered with my roommate had been adopted. This weekend, I am happy to say that I saw none of my former foster kitties. Within the last week, they were all adopted by families in the Phoenix area. Congrats to HALO, and congrats to these adorable little guys!!!

Sweater scratcher, heart warmer.

Havzie was a champ of a kitten. In her first few weeks at the apartment, I was so concerned about her weight that I began feeding her separately from the other cats to make sure she wouldn’t get pushed away from the food dish. I consequently developed a huge soft spot for her, and there were many evenings I would just hang out in my pajamas while Havzie napped away on my belly. It also helped that she was one of the first to figure out that whole “only poop in the litter box” thing. More than anything, Havzie made the sweater nap mean something, waking up all adorable and sleepy-eyed after giving you a reason not to move for 45 minutes.

So long, Havzie. I’ll miss you, your little squinty-eye, but most of all, our naps.

Bellie was the loner of the litter. He frequently napped by himself and could hardly ever be bothered to get caught up in the minor scuffles between the other cats. Despite his no-nonsense nature, Bellie was not without his frivolities. He was the first to discover you could climb into the cabinets through a small gap between the door and the frame, and he never gave up on trying to catch a particular cabinet doorknob. Because of his loner lifestyle, though, getting to hang out with Bellie was like being invited to sit at the “popular table” in middle school. This cat held so much validation in her little thumbless paws. I have no photographic evidence that Bellie did nothing but nap from afar and try to snag a doorknob, but we hung out a few times. Trust me.

Solo napper, doorknob catcher.

So long, Bellie. More than anything, I wish you thumbs.

Lastly, there is Hamilton. I feel it is almost an injustice to write this portion of the post without my roommate. After all, Hamilton was his cat. He also grew the fastest, ate the most, and was certainly the most significant carpet-sullying force of the apartment. All that aside, I would never have named the other cats were it not for him, and I think he made the whole adoption experience a bit more exciting for Dave. For me personally, he was the most eager to climb up my pant legs, which I think is the coolest of things kittens do.

Fox-style carpet crapper.

So long, Hammy. I hope your new home can keep up with you.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment